Governor's Arts Awards

THIRTIETH ANNIVERSARY

NEWS RELEASE

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

76 ARTISTS, EDUCATORS, BUSINESSES, COMMUNITIES AND INDIVIDUALS STATEWIDE NOMINATED FOR 30TH ANNUAL GOVERNOR'S ARTS AWARDS All Previous Honorees Will Be Recognized at April 12 Event at Herberger Theater

PHOENIX, Ariz. (Feb. 1, 2011): Artists, educators, businesses, communities and individuals representing 22 cities and towns in Arizona have been nominated in six categories for Arizona Governor's Arts Awards at the 30th annual celebration, Tuesday, April 12 at the Herberger Theater Center.

A total of 76 nominations were received for consideration by an independent panel of judges. Nominees are from Avondale, Camp Verde, Casa Grande, Cave Creek, Flagstaff, Gilbert, Glendale, Laveen, Mesa, Paradise Valley, Payson, Peoria, Phoenix, Prescott, Scottsdale, Sedona, Surprise, Tempe, Tubac, Tucson, Wickenburg and Yuma.

A new category to recognize an individual focusing on Arts in Education attracted 12 nominations.

During the past three decades, 138 awards have been presented by 7 Arizona governors. All previous honorees will be recognized at the 2011 event. Every surviving Arizona governor who presided over past Governor's Arts Awards has been invited to attend this year's celebration. Current Governor Jan Brewer is the Honorary Chair.

The Governor's Arts Awards, which recognize substantial and outstanding contributions to arts and culture in Arizona, are presented by Arizona Citizens/Action for the Arts, the Arizona Commission on the Arts and the Office of the Governor. Bank of America is the Presenting Sponsor this year, APS is the Sustainability Sponsor and Target Stores is the Dessert Sponsor. Additional sponsorship opportunities are available by calling (602) 253-6535 or by visiting www.governorsartsawards.org.

"The breadth, depth and diversity of the nominees reflects not only a remarkable level of creativity and talent, but leadership, support and volunteer efforts that have placed and kept

Arizona among the most-respected arts and cultural communities in the nation," said Catherine "Rusty" Foley, interim executive director of Arizona Citizens/Action for the Arts.

The 2011 Governor's Arts Awards also will feature the presentation of the sixth annual Shelley Award to an Arizona individual who has advanced the arts through strategic and innovative work in creating or supporting public policy beneficial to the arts in Arizona. The award is named for Shelley Cohn, who spent more than 25 years as executive director of the Arizona Commission on the Arts. A separate announcement of the Shelley Award honoree is expected by the end of January, Foley said.

Tickets for the Oscar-style presentation, which include hors d'oeuvres and refreshments before the event and a dessert reception afterwards, are \$135 each for members of Arizona Citizens/Action for the Arts and \$150 for nonmembers. Tickets can be purchased online at www.governorsartsawards.org.

The event begins at 5:30 p.m. with a silent auction, hors d'oeuvres and refreshments. Honorees will be recognized at 7 p.m. following by a dessert reception at 8 p.m.

-30-

Artist

Zam Alidina, Phoenix; Susan Beiner, Tempe; Kevin S. Berry, Phoenix; Carley Conder, Tempe; Mary De Loyht, Scottsdale; Jody Drake, Prescott; Angela Ellsworth, Scottsdale; Lawrence Enyart, Phoenix; Dange Hanson, Phoenix; Paul Hawkins, Camp Verde; Patsy Lowry, Paradise Valley; Danell Lynn, Phoenix; Luis Mena, Tucson; Martin Moreno, Laveen; James N. Muir, Sedona; Paul Nosa, Tucson; Catalin Rotaru, Tempe; Lisa Starry, Phoenix; Betsy Dillard Stroud, Scottsdale; David Therrien, Phoenix; Connie Whitlock, Surprise.

Arts in Education - Individual

Matt Baker, Phoenix; KellyAnn Bonnell, Phoenix; Dr. Mary Erickson, Tempe; Nancy Genys, Gilbert; Emily Krull, Gilbert; Ann Ludwig, Tempe; Melissa Nelson, Cave Creek; Jill Osborne, Tempe; Gregory Sale, Phoenix; Nando Schellen, Flagstaff; Debra K. Stevens, Tempe; Virginia Westover, Tucson.

Arts in Education - Organization

Arizona School for the Arts, Phoenix; The Bead Museum, Glendale; EPIK Dance Company, Phoenix; Marshall Magnet Elementary School, Flagstaff; Prescott Art Docents, Prescott; Sonoran Glass Art Academy, Tucson; Tonto Community Concert Association, Payson; Tri-City College Prep High School, Prescott; Washington Elementary School District, Glendale.

Business

Cox Communications, Southern Arizona; Etherton Gallery, Tucson; JP Morgan Chase; Meridian Bank; ON Media, Phoenix; Southwest Ambulance.

Community

Arizona Broadway Theatre, Peoria; Casa Grande Arts & Humanities Commission; Del E. Webb Center for the Performing Arts, Wickenburg; Coconino County Public Library, Flagstaff; Flagstaff Symphony Orchestra; Free Arts for Abused Children of Arizona, Phoenix; Kore Press, Tucson; The Loft Cinema, Inc., Tucson; Mesa Arts Center; NEW ARTiculations Dance Theatre, Tucson; Scottsdale Neighborhood Arts Place; Tubac Center for the Arts; West Valley Youth Orchestra, Avondale; Young Arts Arizona, Ltd., Phoenix.

Individual

Rod Ambrose, Phoenix; Bobb Cooper, Phoenix; The Dallabetta's – John L., John A. & Amanda, Yuma; Carmen de Novais-Guerrero, Mesa; John Fontana, Scottsdale; Amanda Melby, Scottsdale; Hope Ozer, Paradise Valley; John Spiak, Mesa; Rosemary Tunnell, Lake Havasu City; Robert J. Ulrich, Paradise Valley; Carol D. Whiteman, Phoenix.

Arizona Citizens for the Arts

Arizona Citizens for the Arts is the premier arts advocacy organization in Arizona dedicated to the mission of discussion and awareness of the importance and impact of the arts in achieving quality of life, educational excellence and economic health for all Arizonans and Arizona enterprises. For information visit www.azcitizensforthearts.org

Arizona Commission on the Arts

The Arizona Commission on the Arts is the state agency that connects artists and communities. The Commission features many diverse programs and services for Arizona residents. For information visit www.azarts.gov.

Contacts:

Rusty Foley, Interim Executive Director, Arizona Citizens for the Arts, (602) 253-6535 Steve Carr, The Kur Carr Group, Inc., (602) 317-3040