Arizona Citizens for the Arts has presented the Governor's Arts Awards annually since 1981 in partnership with the Office of the Governor and the Arizona Commission on the Arts to recognize artists, arts organizations, businesses, educators and individuals for their passion, creativity and devotion to the excellence and diversity of Arizona's arts and cultural community.

Past Honorees

2014

Daniel Buckley Robert Benson

Rosie's House: A Musical Academy for

Children

BMO Harris Bank

University of Arizona Poetry Center

Anni Beach

Shelley Award: Helen and John Schaefer

2013

Jim Waid Marion Kirk Jones

Marshall Magnet Elementary School

Southwest Ambulance

Alwun House Dick Bowers

Shelley Award: James K. Ballinger

2013

Ed Mell

Beth Lessard

Arizona School for the Arts

JP Morgan Chase Bank

The Arizona Cowboy Poets Gathering

Robert Breunig

Colleen Jennings-Roggensack

Shelley Award: Darryl Dobras

2011

Martin Moreno

Ann Ludwig

Tonto Community Art Association

Cox Communications, Southern Arizona Free Arts for Abused Children of Arizona

Carol D. Whiteman

Shelley Award: Bill Sheppard, Carolyn

Allen

2010

James DeMars Elizabeth Ruffner Bank of America

Grand Canyon Music Festival
The Drawing Studio of Tucson

Shelley Award: Shirley Chann

2009

Michael Barnard

Jacquie & Bennett Dorrance

Ben's Bells Project

Boeing

Phoenix Art Museum Docents

Shelley Award: Gerry Murphy

Lifetime Achievement Award: Kyle

Lawson

2008

Mark Klett

Jessica Andrews

Arts for All, Inc

Valley Youth Theatre

Blue Cross Blue Shield of Arizona

Shelley Award: Dennis Kavanaugh

2007

Ib Andersen

Janice Johnson

Mayo Clinic Center for Humanities in

Medicine

Opening Minds through the Arts

Target

Shelley Award: Sam Campana

2006

David Tineo Gerry Fathauer Chandler Center for the Arts; Bonnie Dent DMB, Inc Shelley Award: Shelley Cohn

2005

Robert McCall Marcia Ellis Stonewall Foundation Gordon Epperson Bank One

2004

Will Bruder
Gabrielle Liese
Tucson Symphony Orchestra
Mario Mendia
America West Airlines

2003

David Ira Goldstein Maxine and Jonathan Marshall Tucson Pima Arts Council Maurice J. Sevigny Wells Fargo Arizona

2002

Fritz Scholder
Don Luria
Sedona Jazz on the Rocks
Arts Genesis
American Express

2001

Beth Ames Swartz Virginia Ullman bicas Childsplay, Inc. Basha's

2000

Dorothy Fratt Gene Polk Cultural Council of Yuma Flagstaff Arts and Leadership Academy US West

1999

Dr. Harvey K. Smith
Frances McAllister
Glendale Public Library
Arts Connections (UApresents and Tucson
Unified School District)
Snell & Wilmer

1998

Tom Philabaum Marvin S. Cohen City of Flagstaff Arizona Alliance for Arts Education FINOVA

1997

James Turrell Gordon Murphy Thava Freedman Patronato San Xavier Phoenix Suns

1996

Paolo Soleri Mark DeMichele Artreach of the Scottsdale Cultural Council Tucson Arizona Boys Chorus Motorola, Inc.

1995

John Waddell Myra Millinger Gila Valley Arts Council Barbara Meyerson Hughes Missile Systems Company

1994

Frances S. Cohen Lovena Ohl Mesa Arts Center Young Audiences of Southern Arizona The Dial Corp.

1993

Zarco Guerrero Rose and Allen Rosenberg West Valley Fine Arts Council Barbara Mettler Salt River Project

1992

R. Carlos Nakai Rudy Turk Prescott Fine Arts Association Virginia Brouch First Interstate Bank

1991

Alberto Rios Lois & Richard Shelton (Don T. Tostenrud Individual) Flinn Foundation Marion Elliott Arizona Public Service Company

1990

Charles Loloma
George Rosenberg (Don T. Tostenrud
Individual)
Hopi Arts and Crafts Silvercraft Cooperative
Guild
Carroll Rinehardt
Phelps Dodge Corporation

1989

David Saar Eugene Grigsby (Don T. Tostenrud Individual) Wickenburg Friends of Music American Express

1987

Frederick Sommer Robert and Kax Herberger Coconino Center for the Arts Valley National Bank

1986

Sandy Rosenthal Helen K. Mason East Valley Cultural Alliance Mountain Bell

1985

Dennis Jones John Wettaw Empire Southwest Company

1984

Camil Van Hulse Dino DeConcini Phoenix Magazine

1983

Philip C. Curtis
Edward Jacobson
Arizona Republic/Phoenix Gazette

1982

Lillian Behr Hoff Louise Tester Pollard The Arizona Bank

1981

Walter Reed Bimson Lewis J. Ruskin The Dayton Hudson Corporation

Updated 11/05/14