NEWS RELEASE

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

ARIZONA CITIZENS FOR THE ARTS NAMES 24 LEGISLATIVE ARTS CHAMPIONS

Democrats, Republicans, Staff Recognized For Supporting Funding to Arizona Commission on the Arts

PHOENIX, Ariz. (June 28, 2018): Arizona Citizens for the Arts has recognized 24 members of the Arizona Senate and House of Representatives and staff members as 2018 Legislative Arts Champions for their bipartisan support for public funding for the arts.

Their support was critical during recent state budget negotiations to securing a \$2 million allocation from the state's Rainy Day Fund for the Arizona Commission on the Arts' work to support, enhance and help create diverse arts and culture programs statewide. The allocation for Fiscal Year 2019 is a \$500,000 increase over what was allocated in Fiscal Year 2018.

"The support from these legislators and their staff was vital in securing the appropriation that will create, expand and ensure statewide opportunities for members of every community to engage in the arts," said Arizona Citizens for the Arts Executive Director Catherine "Rusty" Foley. "Together, with arts advocates from every corner of the state, the collective message was clear that the arts are an economic driver, enhance education for our children and contribute to community vitality and health."

Six Democrats, 16 Republicans and two staff members from the Arizona Senate and House of Representatives were chosen "for their bipartisan and collaborative efforts," Foley said. Each Legislative Arts Champion will receive be recognized at a reception following the June 27 annual meeting of Arizona Citizens for the Arts at the Phoenix Children's Museum, 215 N. 7th Street in Phoenix.

Members of the Arizona Senate receiving awards are: Kate Brophy McGee (R-District 28), Phoenix; Karen Fann (R-District 1), Prescott; Kimberly Yee (R-District 20) Phoenix; Bob Worsley (R-District 25), Mesa; Steve Yarbrough (R-District 17), Chandler; Martin Quezada (D-District 29), Phoenix; Sean Bowie (D-District 18), Chandler.

Members of the House of Representatives receiving awards are: John Allen (R-District 15), Scottsdale; Lela Alston (D-District 24), Phoenix; Paul Boyer (R-District 20), Phoenix; Heather Carter (R-District 15), Cave Creek; Cesar Chavez (D-District 29), Phoenix; Ken Clark (D-District 24), Phoenix; Regina Cobb (R-District 5), Kingman; David Cook (R-District 8), Globe; Drew John (R-District 14), Safford; Jay Lawrence (R-District 23), Scottsdale; J.D. Mesnard (R-

District 17), Chandler; Jill Norgaard (R-District 18), Phoenix; Rebecca Rios (D-District 27),

South Phoenix; Thomas Shope (R-District 8), Coolidge; Bob Thorpe (R-District 6), Flagstaff.

Staff members receiving awards are: Amilyn Pierce, Deputy Chief of Staff to Speaker of

the House J.D. Mesnard and Melissa Taylor, Deputy Chief of Staff to Senate President Steve Yarbrough.

For more information, visit <u>www.azcitizensforthearts.org</u>).

-30-

Contacts:

• Catherine "Rusty" Foley, Executive Director, Arizona Citizens for the Arts, (602) 253-6535

• Steve Carr, The Kur Carr Group, Inc., (602) 317-3040

Arizona Citizens for the Arts, a 37-year-old 501 c3 organization, acts as the eyes, ears and voice of the nonprofit arts and culture sector in Arizona at the State Legislature, in local city halls and partnerships with business and community leaders involved in building and supporting quality of life in Arizona. For more information, visit <u>www.azcitizensforthearts.org</u> or call (602) 253-6535.